Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting how to add Loop number to variable name? Post 302318477 by siul0_0 on Thursday 21st of May 2009 03:59:34 PM
Old 05-21-2009
that worked like a charm! Thank you Smilie

PS: Well, I'm not using an array because I'm fairly new to shell scripts.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

loop number of records.

Initially i store some files into anothe file Y. Now i want read the contents of file Y one by one do some check on each file. i,e Open file Y (contains multiple files) First read a file , do some check on that individual file.If that file satisfies teh condition put it in another file. Now... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vasuarjula
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Number lines of file and assign variable to each number

I have a file with a list of config files numbered on the lefthand side 1-300. I need to have bash read each lines number and assign it to a variable so it can be chosen by the user called by the script later. Ex. 1 some data 2 something else 3 more stuff which number do you... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: glev2005
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to add the number of row and count number of rows

Hi experts a have a very large file and I need to add two columns: the first one numbering the incidence of records and the another with the total count The input file: 21 2341 A 21 2341 A 21 2341 A 21 2341 C 21 2341 C 21 2341 C 21 2341 C 21 4567 A 21 4567 A 21 4567 C ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: juelillo
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

[SHELL: /bin/sh] For loop using variable variable names

Simple enough problem I think, I just can't seem to get it right. The below doesn't work as intended, it's just a function defined in a much larger script: CheckValues() { for field in \ Group_ID \ Group_Title \ Rule_ID \ Rule_Severity \ ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Vryali
2 Replies