Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting read numbers from file and output which numbers belongs to which range Post 302315669 by thepurple on Wednesday 13th of May 2009 03:00:44 AM
Old 05-13-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by radoulov
In your sample there are no matching groups for the numbers in your example data, that's what I mean ...
There is matchings see below- At least below is matched. In this way if no matching than output will be No matched. If match then output will be accordingly.

935303455 number belongs to below group
start end
Group0125 935300 935399

Please help.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Using grep on a range of numbers

Hi im new to unix and need to find a way to grep the top 5 numbers in a file and put them into another file. For example my file looks like this abcdef 50000 abcdef 45000 abcdef 40000 abcdef 35000 abcdef 30000 abcdef 25000 abcdef 20000 abcdef 15000 abcdef 10000 and so on... How can... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ProgChick2oo9
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Inserting a range of consecutive numbers into a text file

I have a text file in the following format .... START 1,1 2,1 3,1 .. .. 9,1 10,1 END .... I want to change to the output to .... START 1,1 2,1 3,1 .. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: VNR
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with addition of 2 numbers that are read from a file

I am trying to add free and used memory (so that i can compute percentage used)of remote nodes using shell script. I use the openssh-server,expect tool and ssh script. 1)login.txt (info of nodes): ip1|username|password ip2|username|password . . . 3)sshlogin.sh #!/bin/bash ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: marmik1903
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Frequency of a range of numbers