Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Writing output into different files while processing file using AWK Post 302313055 by vidyak on Monday 4th of May 2009 01:41:14 PM
Old 05-04-2009
Oops, I had posted one record with blank value for first field. Not sure, how it appeared different when I submitted the contents Smilie
Well, let me try it in different way. Below are the contents of the file.

Line 1: A123456 11111
Line 2: B123456 22222
Line 3: C123456 33333
Line 4: 44444
Line 5: D123456 55555

In above example, line 4 does not contain contents for fld1 and hence should be written to Reject file. Does this help?

Thanks and Regards,
Vidya

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

single output of awk script processing multiple files

Helllo UNIX Forum :) Since I am posting on this board, yes, I am new to UNIX! I read a copy of "UNIX made easy" from 1990, which felt like a making a "computer-science time jump" backwards ;) So, basically I have some sort of understanding what the basic concept is. Problem Description:... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kasimir
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Processing files using awk

Hi I have files in our UNIX directory like the below -rw-r--r-- 1 devinfo devsupp 872 Sep 14 02:09 IMGBTREE27309_12272_11_1_0_FK.idx0 -rw-r--r-- 1 devinfo devsupp 872 Sep 14 02:09 IMGBTREE27309_12272_11_0_0_PK.idx0 -rw-r--r-- 1 devinfo devsupp 432 Sep 14... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: rbmuruga
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

processing the output of AWK

Hi my input file is <so > < Time > <Pid> <some ro><Job Name> 111004 04554447 26817 JOB03275 MBPDVLOI 111004 04554473 26817 JOB03275 MBPDVLOI 111004 04554778 26807 JOB03276 MBPDVAWD 111004 04554779 26807 JOB03276 MBPDVAWD 111004 04554780 26817 ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: rakeshkumar
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers