Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Search and copy to a new file-Help Post 302311530 by Franklin52 on Wednesday 29th of April 2009 02:50:38 AM
Old 04-29-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuxidow
Excellent.. A great help.... Thanks a lot for the Swift Reply.. :-) Could you please explain the code for me. so that i will get better understanding of it..
Code:
awk '/imrm\/Delasco_Invoices_DayForward_Scan/{
  print "imrm/Delasco_Invoices_DayForward_Scan"
  f=1

If the line contains the regexp print the header and assign 1 to the variable f.

Code:
/QUIT/{f=0}

If the line contains QUIT unset the variable f.

Code:
f && /STOR/' file > newfile

If the variable f is set and the line contains the word STOR print the line.

Regards

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Search for strings & copy to new file

Hi All, I am just learning shell programming, I need to do the following in my shell script. Search a given log file for two\more strings. If the the two\more strings are found then write it to a outputfile else if only one of the string is found, write the found string in one output... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: amitrajvarma
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

File extension search and copy

Hi need to know if we can write a shell script to find files for a particular format;s ie both .csv and .txt in a particular folder and then copy them to a new folder on a dialy basis. Does anyone know how this can be accomplished? Thanks, Sandeep (20 Replies)
Discussion started by: bsandeep_80
20 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Shell script to search for text in a file and copy file

Compete noob question.... I need a script to search through a directory and find files containing text string abcde1234 for example and then copy that file with that text string to another directory help please :eek: (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: imeadows
9 Replies