Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with Shell Script displaying Directories Post 302308875 by cfajohnson on Monday 20th of April 2009 01:05:13 PM
Old 04-20-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjnd1988
I am new to shell programming and have an assignment question which requires me to list the contents of the present working directory in 4 column format and highlight any subdirectories.

Homework assignments are not permitted here, but maybe this will get you started:

Code:
unset files
n=0
for file in *
do
  [ -d "$file" ] &&
     files[${#files[@]}]=$file/ ||
     files[${#files[@]}]=$file
done
w=$(( $COLUMNS / 4 - 1 ))
printf "%-$w.${w}s %-$w.${w}s %-$w.${w}s %-$w.${w}s\n" "${files[@]}"

Quote:

It then requires me to develop the shell script to accept a directory name as a positional parameter (if no parameter use the present working directory); then adapt is to accept more than one directory as positional parameters; and finally adapt it to display the name of the sub directory and ask whether to: descend and list the contents, list the contents without changing the present working directory, or ignore the directory. (it was suggested that a recursive call would be handy)

I am struggling to write a shell script which performs this task. I found the following script in a forum which i think was written for old version shell (SH). I have tried to reuse this shell and adapt it to the BASH shell.

With very few exceptions, scripts written for sh will run without modification in bash.
Quote:
If anyone is able to help me either adapt the below code or have any suggestions on how i can go about this question.

Please put code inside [code] tags.
Quote:
Code:
#!/bin/sh

if [ -n "$1" ]
then
 WORKDIR=$1
else
 WORKDIR=`pwd`
fi

WORKDIR=`echo $WORKDIR | awk \
'{
  if (substr($0,length($0),1)=="/")
  {
   print substr($0,1,length($0)-1)
  } else {
   print $0
  }
 }'`

echo $WORKDIR

for DIR in `ls -l $WORKDIR | grep "^d" | awk '{ print $NF }'`
do