Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to use ftp commands inside shell script? Help please Post 302303901 by Dendany83 on Friday 3rd of April 2009 09:38:42 PM
Old 04-03-2009
Question How to use ftp commands inside shell script? Help please

Dears,

I'm new in shell scripting and i need your help, i would like to know how can i create a script to ftp to a certain unix/linux machine/server IP address and get a file for example without user intervention? How can i force the script to use a certain username and password to access this machine then execute the "change directory" to go to a certain path and get the requested file?

I appreaciate your help

Many thanks in advance

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

using FTP related commands in nawk utility in shell programming

I am facing problem while accesing FTP related commands in nawk code in bourne shell programming.I can able to connect to remote machine, but i can't able to get files from that machine. Please help me in this.If you send code along with the solution, then it will be usefull for me. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: nrsekhar
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to run unix commands in a new shell inside a shell script?

Hi , I am having one situation in which I need to run some simple unix commands after doing "chroot" command in a shell script. Which in turn creates a new shell. So scenario is that - I need to have one shell script which is ran as a part of crontab - in this shell script I need to do a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: hkapil
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

ftp files inside a shell script

I have a shell script where I am trying to ftp some files but I get the error message "EOF unclosed" every time the script reaches the ftp section. Here is how my script is written. #more code up here rm -f $object >> $LOG_FILE 2>&1 fi #end of if done #end of for loop ... (5 Replies)