Sponsored Content
Operating Systems BSD Using pkg_add on alternative host Post 302303818 by RealFreeBSDTips on Friday 3rd of April 2009 02:07:17 PM
Old 04-03-2009
# export PACKAGEROOT=ftp://ftp3.FreeBSD.org
# pkg_add -v -r vim

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

QNX host cannot ping SCO host, vice versa

The problem I am facing now is that the QNX host could not ping the SCO host and vice versa. They are in the same domain, ie, 172.20.3.xx. As I am very new to Unix, I guess I must have missed out some important steps. Pls help... Thanx alot (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gavon
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

host alias not working: host not found

Hello, I am working on HP-UX , and in the /etc/hosts file we have setup an alias: aa.bb.cc.dd devmach2.unix.org devmach2 devma2v The alias devma2v does not work. Error when pinging devma2v ping: unknown host devma2v For devmach2 the ping works fine , returning the correct IP... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: FunnyCats
4 Replies

3. Solaris

How to delete the files from local host to remote host

Hi all, i am copying .gz files from production server to development server using "scp" command.my requirement is after copying .gz files i want to delete old .gz files(two days back) in development server from production server. like this way i need to delelte .log ,.z and .dmp files... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: krishna176
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

pkg_add fails

Hi, I have created a package on a 64 bit FreeBSD machine. when i install this (on another 64 bit FreeBSD machine )i get the following error : tar: Skipping pathname containing .. pkg_add: tar extract of /home/vcr/testpackage.tgz failed! pkg_add: unable to extract '/home/vcr/testpackage.tgz'!... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: HIMANI
0 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

running commands to remote host from centralized host