Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: unary operator expected
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting unary operator expected Post 302303703 by timgolding on Friday 3rd of April 2009 10:08:25 AM
Old 04-03-2009
Sorry i was being a noob i thought

Code:
ls -l asl.log| awk '{printf "%s",$5}'

Was putting the output into $5 and it wasn't so i just used

Code:
cd /var/log
VAR=`ls -l asl.log| awk '{printf "%s",$5}'`

max=300

if [ $VAR -gt $max ]; then echo "wohoo";
else echo "grr";
fi

Which piped the output to VAR and i get "wohoo". Wohooo Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

unary operator expected error

Hi I am doing a script like if then echo "table name dosent exist" exit fi the problem is if $table_name is null then i am getting the error Please help me Thanks in advance (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ssuresh1999
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

unary operator expected

hi i am trying to compare a value with value 50. but i am getting " I am using if then echo "------------" fi please help thanks in advance Satya (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Satyak
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

[: =: unary operator expected

HI, while running a script, I got the below mentioned error. /bin/sh: line10 : supportedMozillaVersion() { case "$*" in *rv:1.*) return 0;; *rv:.*) return 0;; *rv:*) return 1;; Mozilla\ 1.*) return 0;; Mozilla\ .*) return 0;; *) return 1;; esac } supportedFirefoxVersion() { case... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: bhag281
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

line 5: [: -gt: unary operator expected

Hello all, :confused: I am not getting this error. Pls help me. ./construct_operon.sh: line 5: #!/bin/bash # Construct Operons using gene pairs. rm -rf operons_result lines=`awk 'END {print NR}' ecoli_operons` while ; do head -1 ecoli_operons | awk '{print $1"\n"$2}' > pattern ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: admax
5 Replies