Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: cron-apt - adding X-headers
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers cron-apt - adding X-headers Post 302303447 by karuna on Thursday 2nd of April 2009 03:47:59 PM
Old 04-02-2009
cron-apt - adding X-headers

Hi,

We use a ticket system for our IT queries called OTRS. Emails sent to
that system are placed in ticket queues. OTRS reads X- headers in emails
as described here:

http://dev.jasonpruim.com/otrs/doc/X-OTRS-Headers.txt

We would like to be able to configure cron-apt to place certain X- headers
in the notification emails it sends. It will then send the email to the
OTRS system which will read those X- headers and act accordingly, eg
directly placing the ticket in a particular queue or whatever.

I am new to scripting so still finding my feet.

So far I have edited:

/usr/share/cron-apt/functions
Code:
mail -a "$XHEADER" "$MAILTO" < "$MAIL"
        mail -s "$SUBJECT" "$MAILTO"  < "$MAIL"

/etc/cron-apt/config
Code:
XHEADER="X-OTRS-Queue: Updates"

When the email is sent the X-header seems to replace the Subject header, I'm assuming this is to do with mail. Can I merge those two commands together? or am I totally wrong?

Sorry if I'm a bit vague just not sure what to be asking really!

Any help would be great,
Thanks in advance.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Adding command line env in cron env

Hello friends, i run two scripts manually & they work. i run them in cron & they don work. how to match the two env's 1.command line env 2.cron env i would like cron to use command line env. Thanks & Regards Abhijeet (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: abhijeetkul
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

adding date to cron log

Hi. I'm trying to output the current date to a cronjob log file. Nothing seems to work, echo $(date), echo `date` or just date in the script. I'm using /sbin/sh Any ideas? Thanks, John (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: JohnH
2 Replies