Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Information about Unix System Administration Post 302303031 by pludi on Wednesday 1st of April 2009 04:35:36 PM
Old 04-01-2009
You CAN have steady hours as an Unix Sysadmin:
  1. While you're still being trained on the job (no one expects you to fix anything since you're not fully trained)
  2. As soon as your PFY/apprentice is trained well enough to handle 95% of your job
The next best thing that I can think of would be Operating, eg. doing the day-to-day maintenance chores.

And I have to agree with wempy: we're pretty much underestimated and sometimes even seen as targets for "smartsizing", up until the point where Murphy strikes. But getting a system back up from the (almost) dead is a great feeling.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

System Administration

I have been working with UNIX (HP-UX) now for a couple of years. Have become quite capable in shell scripting and general UNIX use. The local university offers a certification course in UNIX administration which I am considering taking. However, the certification is geared toward UNIX in general... (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: google
13 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Need information about System V & Berkley Syntax for Unix

Hi, Can somebody give me some information on System V & Berkley's Unix formats. Any link will be helpful. thanks (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: vibhor_agarwali
6 Replies

3. Solaris

System Administration Certification

I'm planning to take System Administration certification in SUN Solaris. Can some one suggest me if there are any links are URLs to find sample question papers. Pharos (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pharos467
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Alternative Scripting Language for UNIX/Linux System Administration