Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Converting past date to seconds Post 302302327 by synergy_texas on Monday 30th of March 2009 05:09:51 PM
Old 03-30-2009
Converting past date to seconds

Need a little help developing a ksh script. Have read through Perderabo's datecalc routine and it does not seem to fit the function I am looking for. Basically what I am trying to do is find any file (in a specific directory) that was created within the last five minutes. I am not a programming expert but do have a lot of background. Need a Korn shell example or a Perl example that I can call from ksh. Not a Perl programmer, but can understand the basics.

I am a simple guy and like to keep things simple. What I am currently using is to get the current date in seconds and then subtracting 5 minutes.

SECONDS=`date +%s`
FIVEMINSAGO=`expr $SECONDS - 300`

Now what I need is to convert the datestamp of my files to seconds as well. My file is the cut command from an ls -ltr. See example:
Mar 25 11:35 1658.wulog
Mar 25 12:08 1659.wulog
Mar 25 12:29 1660.wulog
Mar 25 12:38 1661.wulog
Mar 25 15:39 1662.wulog

If I can get the date and time converted to seconds, then all I need to do is see if that conversion is greater than $FIVEMINSAGO. That is the easy part. What I am not sure about is how to easily convert the date/timestamps in the example above. Any slick (easy) solution would be greatly appreciated.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

a simple way of converting a date in seconds to normal date

Hi all! I'm working on a HPUX system, and I was wondering if there is a simple way to convert a date from seconds (since 1970) to a normal date. Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: travian
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Get date and time for past 1 hour from current date

Hi, I need to get the date and time for past 1 hour from the current date. Anyone know how to do so? Thanks (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: spch2o