Sponsored Content
Special Forums UNIX and Linux Applications High Performance Computing High reliability web server - cluster, redundancy, etc Post 302301982 by bsaadmin on Sunday 29th of March 2009 04:29:48 PM
Old 03-29-2009
High reliability web server - cluster, redundancy, etc

Hi. I am IT manager/developer for a small organization. I have been doing as-needed linux server administration for several years and am by no means an expert. I've built several of my own servers, and our org is currently using hosting services for our servers and I am relatively happy.

We recently had an outage at the host, and management has made clear that this is unacceptable. Our host is one of the larger ones, a publicly traded company, and their techs are onsite and knowledgeable. The outage was a problem with the pipe between the hosting company and the backbone to the internet, caused by the hosting company's pipe provider. It lasted about 25 minutes. Just FYI.

So the conversation about redundancy and clusters has begun. I have never done this before. My hosting company offers a cluster plan that would be easy to implement (CPanel based) but that won't solve the problem of a pipe outage. We are thinking of clustered web servers (apache, php) and clustered databases (mysql) in different locations geographically. Wha are the considerations involved? Rough idea of costs, risks that remain, etc.

Any direction would be really appreciated.

3 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

High Availability zone on Sun Cluster

HI Experts, Could some one help me in configuring high availability zone on Sun Cluster Reg: Sudhan (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sudhan143
3 Replies

2. Red Hat

Red Hat High Availability (HA) Cluster