Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Validating that the NIS and NIS+ services are disabled Post 302301974 by sport on Sunday 29th of March 2009 03:24:16 PM
Old 03-29-2009
Actually I am, in this case, just looking to validate the services state.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

NIS

Hello anyone... I am new to UNIX and I recently bought a Sparc 10 to play around with. Well, last night I executed something called EasyInstall in my /usr/etc/install directory and I selected to "Use NIS". Now when my system boots up it is looking for a NIS server to connect to and keep trying(... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: jskillet
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Solaris NIS+ and RedHat NIS+

Hello all, I'm not sure if this is the right forum, but I would like to know if Redhat running NIS ( not NIS +) would have conflict with Solaris running NIS+. Currently I am running NIS+ on Solaris but will be adding RedHat to the network. I seem to be unable to find and information regarding... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: larry
2 Replies

3. IP Networking

differences nis nis+

Hello together. Is there someone who is able to explain me the differences between NIS and NIS+. thanks in advance joerg (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: joerg
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

NIS map mail.aliases specified, but NIS not running

Hi all, I just took over the admin role from someone and I wanna setup sendmail (just to send mail from the host) however, after I config all the resolv.conf, nssitch.conf, hosts file and when I try to send a mail out, after I punched ctl-D, it returned he following, "NIS map mail.aliases... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: stancwong
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

SUSE 9 and 10 NIS clients with RedHat 8.0 NIS server not working