Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script to delete older versions of unique files Post 302301856 by Franklin52 on Saturday 28th of March 2009 05:57:45 PM
Old 03-28-2009
Try this:

Code:
ls -lt | awk '/^d/{split($8,f,"_");a[f[1]]++}a[f[1]] > 2{system("ls -l "$8)}'

If the command outputs the directories you want to remove, replace ls -l with rm -r:

Code:
ls -lt | awk '/^d/{split($8,f,"_");a[f[1]]++}a[f[1]] > 2{system("rm -r "$8)}'

Regards

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How can I delete files older than 7 days?

I will like to write a script that delete all files that are older than 7 days in a directory and it's subdirectories. Can any one help me out witht the magic command or script? Thanks in advance, Odogboly98:confused: (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: odogbolu98
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Delete files older than 2 days using shell script in Unix

I'm new to shell script.... can any one help... What is the shell script to delete the files older than 2 days ? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: satishpabba
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need a script to delete previous versions of files

Hi. I need a script (either bash or perl) that can delete previous versions of files. For instance, from our continuous build process I get directories such as build5_dev_1.21 build5_dev_1.22 build5_dev_1.23 build5_dev_1.24 I need a script that I can run every night (using "at"... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: jbsimon000
6 Replies

4. Solaris

Delete files older than 30 days

Hi all, I want to delete log files with extension .log which are older than 30 days. How to delete those files? Operating system -- Sun solaris 10 Your input is highly appreciated. Thanks in advance. Regards, Williams (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: William1482
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script for delete tmp files older than 15 days and owned by "xxx" id