Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Perl - How to search a text file with multiple patterns? Post 302300734 by Sp3ck on Wednesday 25th of March 2009 12:31:48 AM
Old 03-25-2009
Perl - How to search a text file with multiple patterns?

Good day, great gurus,

I'm new to Perl, and programming in general. I'm trying to retrieve a column of data from my text file which spans a non-specific number of lines. So I did a regexp that will pick out the columns. However,my pattern would vary. I tried using a foreach loop unsuccessfully. How would I thus go about creating a script in perl that would:
1) Run a list of patterns (names in this case)
2) A pattern search of each in a file

The code I managed so far is this :

Code:
!/usr/bin/perl
use warnings;
use strict;

my @identity = qw/Joseph Clark May/;

my $data_file = 'C:\tests\Profiles.txt';
open (DAT, $data_file);

foreach $name(@identity) {
    while (<DAT>) {
        print if (/$name/ .. /\/\//);
    }
}

close (DAT);

So a data file like this:
NAME Joseph
blah
blah
blah
//
NAME Kent
blah
blah
blah
blah
//
NAME Clark
blah
blah
//

would give me this (after running the script):
Code:
NAME Joseph
blah
blah
blah
//
NAME Clark
 blah
 blah
 blah
blah
 //
NAME May
blah
blah
blah
//

above is just an example, but the file is huge, and so I just need to filter out these data. Any ideas much appreciated Smilie

Oh, and I only get one result, which is Joseph's data....

Last edited by Yogesh Sawant; 03-25-2009 at 06:45 AM.. Reason: added code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to parameterize multiple search patterns and generate a new file

I have one file: 123*100*abcd*10 123*101*abcd*-29*def 123*100*abcd*-10 123*102*abcd*-105*asd I would like to parameterize the search patterns in the following way so that the user could dynamically change the search pattern. *100* and *- (ie *minus) *102* and *- The output that is... (6 Replies)