Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting SUPER simple bash script to repeat a command... Post 302299978 by cfajohnson on Sunday 22nd of March 2009 06:51:27 PM
Old 03-22-2009

Code:
period=${1:-60} ## default to every 60 seconds
while :
do
  sleep $period &
  igal -a -r -U -w 6
  wait
done

Or, put an entry in your contab file.

Or, if you have the watch command:

Code:
watch -n "$period"  igal -a -r -U -w 6

etc., etc., etc....

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simple Bash Script

I'm sure I'm doing something wrong but as I am new to bash shell scripting I'm not sure what: Here's the code webalizer.conf is sitting in the same directory as this file which is named webalizer.sh. Can someone tell me if I've got the syntax right -- it that's correct? I'm executing the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: xaphalanx
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simple BASH script?

Hi guys, I'm new to the forum so forgive me if I'm sounding ... daft. I currently work in a Tech Support role. Every day we have to generate data by running around 10 .sh scripts. I was thinking instead of having to ./filename 10 times is it possible to right a new script that will run these for... (16 Replies)
Discussion started by: JayC89
16 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

simple bash script

I am writing a shell script in bash one of the thing I want to show is size of export /home du -sk /export/home/oracle | cut -c 1-5 echo "kbytes" when I run the script kbytes shows up in the second line, How can I append kbytes on the same line, such as 61233 kbytes please guide thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Tirmazi
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

simple bash script permission