Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Simple BASH shell script to rename webcam jpg and copy into a new directory. Post 302299895 by cfajohnson on Sunday 22nd of March 2009 01:08:02 AM
Old 03-22-2009

My mistake; it should be:

Code:
while :
do
    orig=/home/slag/www/webcam.jpg
    dest=/home/slag/www/history
    origfile=${orig##*/}   ## this step was missing
    destfile=${origfile%.jpg}$( date +%Y-%m-%d_%H.%M.%S ).jpg
    echo mv "$orig" "$dest/$destfile"
    sleep 60
done

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script to find and copy the files creted in the year 2006 to another directory

Hi All, I am new to UNIX. I will be thankful if some one helps me. I have to write a shell script for one of the requirement. I have files created from Jan 2006 to March 2008. My requirement is to write a script in such a way that 1) To find and copy(not Moving) the files created in the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: manas6
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Rename all ".JPG" files to ".jpg" under all subfolders...

Hi, Dear all: One question ! ^_^ I'm using bash under Ubuntu 9.10. My question is not to rename all ".JPG" files to ".jpg" in a single folder, but to rename all ".JPG" files to ".jpg" in all subfolders. To rename all ".JPG" to ".jpg" in a single folder, for x in *.JPG; do mv "$x"... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: jiapei100
7 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Bash script to rename files in a directory

Dear friends, I have created a script to rename all files in a directory by appending the file name with username (who created the file), the date it was created. For example, "apple.doc" should be renamed to "johnFeb23apple.doc" where "john" is the owner and "Feb23" is file created date. It... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: djsnifer
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting