Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Extract date from log file
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Extract date from log file Post 302298434 by vgersh99 on Tuesday 17th of March 2009 01:15:01 PM
Old 03-17-2009
Code:
echo '198.133.219.248 - - [11/Mar/2009:01:00:00 -0700] "GET /jp/index.shtml HTTP/1.1" 200 24255' | sed 's#[^[]*[[]\([^]][^]]*\).*#\1#'

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract Date from file

I am new to unix scripting. we are using bash. My task is I have dir which contains 30 files. The first column in each file is Date field. For all the files I need to extract the date part Ex(2007-09-05) from the file and add that at the end of that file. for example: The file names are... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: magi
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to extract date with time from file

Hi, I have a file where there is a date and time field, the format for it is yyyy-mm-dd hours:mins:sec the position of date field may vary anywhere in the line and it might be different and it is specified along with the variable AppTimeStamp how do i extract date and time both from the... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: prash_b
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract data from log file from or after the specific date

Hi , I am having a script which will start a process and appends the process related logs to a log file. The log file writes logs with every line starting with date in the format of: date +"%Y %b %d %H:%M:%S". So, in the script, before I start the process, I am storing the date as DATE=`date +"%Y... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: chiru_h
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract info from log file and compute using time date stamp