Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting BASH Script to Detect and List USB Flash Drives Post 302297834 by Corona688 on Sunday 15th of March 2009 11:19:25 PM
Old 03-16-2009
It's not quite a simple script because it involves tying several sources of information together. The point of the UNIX device model is to make it irrelevant whether a device is USB or IDE or SCSI or whatever from a programmer's point of view, getting all the info you need would mean tying together info from /sys/, lsusb, and possibly udev as well... Does linux live have udev?

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

Mounting USB Drives in Solaris 9 x86

I'm trying to moun my external USB Mass Storage Drive (80GB) in my Solaris 9 box, I am new to Solaris, and kind of new to linux / unix variants. The external HD contains windows files, but I will be using it as a central storage area for my windows/ linux clients. Thanks -- N:confused:C (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: N0C717
1 Replies

2. What is on Your Mind?

USB Thumb Drives

I'm hunting around for thumb drives that aren't working. Something you may have kicking around in a drawer that you don't need any more. One you've upgraded and just don't need. I'm willing to pay a couple bucks for you to drop it into an envelope with a few stamps and send it along. I'm... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: BOFH
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how floppy disks, CDs and flash drives (pen drives) are accessed in UNIX

hi how floppy disks, CDs and flash drives (pen drives) are accessed in UNIX? thanks (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: nokia1100
0 Replies

4. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

USB Flash Drives