Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Ubuntu How can I automatically start a daemon at boot time. Post 302296145 by agan01 on Tuesday 10th of March 2009 01:10:56 PM
Old 03-10-2009
How does it work on Solaris?

Hi s93366,

Thanks so much for the excellent tutorial. I works great on Linux environment. However, When I was trying it on Solaris environment, it doesn't work since there's no chkconfig on Linux. Do you have any idea on how to make it work on Solaris? I am new to Linux/Unix, and is learning Linux/Unix. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Disable routed daemon at boot time????

I'm new to UNIX.... I'm running SCO UNIX and would like to disable routed daemon from being start at boot time. How should I do this????? Please help. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rrivas
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

start a process at boot up time

Hi, I have a program that check the IP address and automatic update it to the DNS server. I would like to run this program when the computer bootup after pppd get a connection. How do I add it to the init file. Does any one have any information of how to do it. I run a Linux Mandrake as a... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vtran4270
1 Replies

3. Solaris

Database can't start automatically on solaris

Hi, I have installed oracle 9i on solaris 10 sucessfully. I have configured listener & tnsname.ora file sucessfuly. Even i can start database manully by starting listener first and from sqlplus promt data base sucessfully. Now i want to start the database automatically after system reboots. I... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sachin Vaidya
2 Replies

4. HP-UX

HP UX start process at boot time