Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting using awk in a for loop (getting ksh variable) Post 302293949 by radoulov on Wednesday 4th of March 2009 06:27:07 AM
Old 03-04-2009
Use nawk or /usr/xpg4/bin/awk on Solaris!
Code:
awk '!_[$1]++ { 
  fn && close(fn)
  fn = $1 "_data.csv" 
  }
{ print > fn }' infile

For coma separated values add -F, at the beginning of the command:

Code:
awk -F, '!_[$1]++ { 
  fn && close(fn)
  fn = $1 "_data.csv" 
  }
{ print > fn }' infile

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing a variable to awk while in a shell for loop

I am a newbie to awk and c programming, however am not a unix newbie. However, I do need help with a kshell script I am writing. It is almost complete, the last step is killing me. Any help would be greatly appreciated. What I am trying to do is cat a text file that has usernames. Then, using... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: synergy_texas
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

bash and ksh: variable lost in loop in bash?

Hi, I use AIX (ksh) and Linux (bash) servers. I'm trying to do scripts to will run in both ksh and bash, and most of the time it works. But this time I don't get it in bash (I'm more familar in ksh). The goal of my script if to read a "config file" (like "ini" file), and make various report.... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: estienne
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

ksh variable pass to awk

I'm trying to store the response from a nawk command inside of a ksh script. The command is: text=$(nawk -F: '$1 ~ /${imgArray}/ {print $2}' ${etcDir}/captions.txt) From what I can tell, the imgArray variable is not being expanding when it is inside the single quote ('). Is there something I... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: meman1188
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Passing KSH variable to AWK with two loops