Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Parsing of file for Report Generation (String parsing and splitting) Post 302292394 by adderek on Friday 27th of February 2009 05:20:12 PM
Old 02-27-2009
Seems like a job for a higher-level code. Perl, python, awk, anything like that.
If the line can be very long you could expect unexpected problems (like storing too much data into a variable in shell or the line being truncated).

On the other side such trick could probably work as well: "for var in $(cat file); do .... done" or better - use "read".... you might need to play with the FS/IFS settings.

Anyway - I strongly suggest higher level language.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

parsing a string

hi i am new to shelll scripting I need to parse a string like "abc,def,ghie,jkl" And assign them to some variables like hs1 = abc hs2 = def hs3 = ghi hs4 = jkl Please help (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: satish@123
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl parsing compared to Ksh parsing

#! /usr/local/bin/perl -w $ip = "$ARGV"; $rw = "$ARGV"; $snmpg = "/usr/local/bin/snmpbulkget -v2c -Cn1 -Cn2 -Os -c $rw"; $snmpw = "/usr/local/bin/snmpwalk -Os -c $rw"; $syst=`$snmpg $ip system sysName sysObjectID`; sysDescr.0 = STRING: Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: popeye
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parsing out the logs and generating report

My file will contain following(log.txt): start testcase: config loading ...... error XXXX ..... end testcase: config loading, result failed start testcase: ping check ..... error ZZZZZ ..... error AAAAA end testcase: Ping check, result failed I am expecting below output. ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: shellscripter
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

String-parsing!