Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Wants alternate to the Sleep option?? Post 302289386 by satyajit007 on Thursday 19th of February 2009 01:20:00 PM
Old 02-19-2009
Please elaborate it

Hey but i think in wait we have to mention the PID but here each and every job will be having different PID ..but the PPID will be same for all that is supp.6415......Since I am not an Unix expert rather am a new commer to unix...could you please elaborate how I will use the wait here in this particular script....that would be really helpfull........Thanks

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Alternate way for echo.

Hi, Is there any other command echo does. if I am doing this operation for each line in my file. So its taking very long time to process more than 1000 records. Is there any alternative way to write the above if statement (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: senthil_is
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

option followed by : taking next option if argument missing with getopts

Hi all, I am parsing command line options using getopts. The problem is that mandatory argument options following ":" is taking next option as argument if it is not followed by any argument. Below is the script: while getopts :hd:t:s:l:p:f: opt do case "$opt" in -h|-\?)... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gurukottur
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

alternate lines

Hi, I'm new to Unix. I want to read the all the lines from a text file and write the alternate lines into another file. Please give me a shell script solution. file1 ----- one two three four five six seven newfile(it should contain the alternate lines from the file1) ------- one... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: pstanand
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Wrapping 'sleep' with my 'resleep' function (Resettable sleep)