Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Use grep result to execute next command Post 302288219 by iririr on Monday 16th of February 2009 06:06:17 PM
Old 02-16-2009
So far I have

Code:
      7 while [ 1 ]
      8 do
     10    myvar= fgrep -c 'Started in' jboss_log.txt
     12    echo $myvar
     14   if [ $myvar==1 ]
     15   then
     16       echo "JBoss was launched successfully"
     17         break
     18       fi
     19       sleep 1
     20     done

But the if statement is always true even thou line 12 prints 0.
Can anyone tell me why?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

assign subst|grep|sed command result to a variable

Hi, I'm quite new to scripting and I want to modify following line of an existing script: MYVAR=`subst |grep 'L:\\\:' | sed -e 's/.*\\\//'`; What I have to do is to use the content of a variable instead of the constant expression 'L:\\\:' as the grep string to be matched. Assuming I already... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: snowbiker99
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Get execute result of su

I wrote a shell script. su user << EOF some commands result=$? EOF echo $result Other program determined by $result It outputs nothing. How to pass the variable 'result' "inside su" to "outside su"? (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: uativan
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Execute grep command within a folder

Experts, i need your help to made an enhance query using the existing one. i'm using a command "find . -exec grep -l 'search string' {} \;" to search a particular sting within the file within a folder. Basically, my idea is to fine tune my search. What i want is, instead of searching all files... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gav_dhiman
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

If the grep command returns any result set