Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Iterative statement to cut values from a line Post 302287320 by mannepalli on Friday 13th of February 2009 09:40:59 AM
Old 02-13-2009
Iterative statement to cut values from a line

Hi I am new to shell scripting and trying to get values from a text file,

I have a text file with values seperated with "|". like

aga|120220090525|120220090525|120220090525|120220090530
bab|120220090530|120220090530|120220090535|120220090535|120220090535
afsdv|120220090540|120220090540|120220090540

My requirement is to fetch each value seperated with "|" and put it in a seperate strings in a iterative statement..like

string1 : aga
string2 : 120220090525
string3 :120220090525
string4 :120220090525
string5 :120220090530

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Code checking for all values in the same if statement.

I am trying to set up a variable based on the name of the file. function script_name { if then job_name='MONITOR' return job_name; elsif then job_name='VERSION' return job_name fi } for i in `ls *log` do script_name $i done. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: oracle8
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

to assign cut values to an array

i need to seperate values seperated by delimiters and assign it to an array.. can u plz help me on that. Variables = "asd,rgbh,(,rty,got,),sroe,9034," i need to assign the variables into arrays.. like.. var=asd var=rgbh.. and so on how do i do this. i need to reuse the values stored in... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Syms
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Iterative operation

grep -o '\{1,3\}\.\{1,3\}\.\{1,3\}\.\{1,3\}' then how do i iterate the file names?? (19 Replies)
Discussion started by: ravis83
19 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help with some iterative file processing