Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Is anything wrong with this command Post 302287276 by akhtar.bhat on Friday 13th of February 2009 06:55:58 AM
Old 02-13-2009
CPU & Memory Script to monitor IP's

Dear zaxxon,

Basically I need a shell script to monitor different IP's in the live logs.

The problem is I am new to shell scripting and dont know much about the scripting.

Look at the below line, the pattern will be always like this:

[2009-02-13 15:34:53,768] DEBUG - Start! PaymentGatewayFactory - getPaymentGateway (2, 100.00,Mohit Aggarwal,1942, 1,123.50.162.248, , 9821934958)

I want to extract the different IP's from this line every time when this kind of line adds to the logs.

Once the IP's are extracted and moved to another file, I want to compare them with previously existing IP's instantly and if the count of any particular IP will be more than predefined Value that IP should be Displayed on the Screen.
Hope you got, what is the problem ?
Please do help me in this matter.....

Thanks and regards,
Akhtar Bhat.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Whats wrong with the mv command

I am sorry guys I have figured out the error myself. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: dsravan
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

tr command giving wrong output

Hi All, i have a file which have many fields delimited by ,(comma) now i have to show only few fields and not all. the sample text file looks like this: TYPE=SERVICEEVENT, TIMESTAMP=05/06/2009 11:01:40 PM, HOST=sppwa634, APPLICATION=ASComp, FUNCTION=LimitsService, SOU... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: usha rao
8 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

what is wrong with this find command