Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to check a particular element in a string variable Post 302287136 by Jalkukdi@10 on Friday 13th of February 2009 12:33:27 AM
Old 02-13-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by navjotsingh
Hi,
Im using HP-UX ,i guess that doesn't uses bash.Smilie
Hi Navjot,

I am also new to unix Smilie. But i have tried to this code and its working fine for checking the 3rd character of string to be 'c' :

Code:
i=`echo "abc123" | cut -c3`
echo $i

if [ "$i" == "c" ]
then
        statement
fi

if u r checking the strings in particular file then just give cut command.

Guru's plz correct me if I am wrong.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to check a string in the variable

hi, I have a variable var1 as follows in the script. var1="one two three desformat=PDF xyz" I would like to check whether $var1 has a string "desformat=PDF" or not. Is there any command I can use (not need to creat a file)? Currently, I am using this: if ( grep "desformat=PDF"... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: josephwong
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

check whether variable number or string

I am passing an argument to a file and i wanna check whether the argument is a number or string ? how can i do this? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: rolex.mp
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

check if a variable contains a string

hi I have an if condition that states: if ; then exit how to translate this? $x is a path $y is a string that comes at the end of the path thx (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: melanie_pfefer
11 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Check the value of a string variable