Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Linux Dev environment for c/c++ on Fedora 10 Post 302285623 by Corona688 on Monday 9th of February 2009 10:36:46 AM
Old 02-09-2009
From console, try this:
Code:
gcc --version

If that produces output, you have gcc. If not, you must install it, and probably g++ too.

My advice on development environments in UNIX is this. At present they've cost me more time than they've saved me, especially when makefiles are so easy. Perhaps a steeper learning curve than an IDE, but it's stuff you should ultimately know to program on UNIX.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How Do I set up a UNix dev environment

Hello, I am totally new to Unix. My current contract requires me to build an intranet site (nothing fancy, no forms, no cgi scripts, no search engine) for a unix platform. I develop on an NT environment using dreamweaver. I am considering buying Red Hat Linux, install that on the NT... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: alam
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

What is the new version of linux or should i use fedora

hi guys, pls help me to find out what is the latest version of linux that i can install in my pc or should i install fedora... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: anankumar3
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Is FEDORA and REDHAT LINUX are same?

Hi friends, Is FEDORA and REDHAT LINUX are same? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: haisubbu
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

NTFS in Linux(fedora)

Can any of you Kind Experts out there plz tell me how to access NTFS partitions in Linux? This thing has been buggin me since my birth so to say.. :confused: Please oblige (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: srikumar_cs
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Install Oracle on Fedora Linux