Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting how to delete blanks inside a quoted string Post 302283986 by SFNYC on Wednesday 4th of February 2009 12:38:25 PM
Old 02-04-2009
Code:
$ X='PX_LIST=" 4119 2390 2294 2776 2897 4099 "'

$ echo $X|perl -pe 's/(^.*)\"\s+(.*)\s+\"$/$1\"$2\"/'
PX_LIST="4119 2390 2294 2776 2897 4099"

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to assign variable from a string having blanks in between

Hi All, I am new to bash scripting. I need your help to removing spaces from a string and assign them to different variables. Iwant to call script with one command line argument which is file name which containes different attributes their type and different values eg ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: flextronics
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Delete lines inside a file.

hi.... I have a file having more then thousand lines. i want to remove selected lines in it. And also if there exists two duplicate lines, I want to delete one of them. Please help me with awk and shell. :confused: (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: tushar_tus
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Syntax error: Unterminated quoted string

I keep having problems when exicuting this file. It always gives me the error message "36: Syntax error: Unterminated quoted string" If someone could help me edit this it would be much appreciated. #!/bin/sh # # This will continue adding numbers # untill the total is greater than 1,000 #... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: evilSerph
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Unterminated quoted string

Hello! I wroted a little script that should check for new updates on a server and get them if any. The problem is, every time I run it with sh, I'm getting an "script: 20: Syntax error: Unterminated quoted string" error! The problem is, there isn't any "unterminated quoted string" in my script:... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: al0x
2 Replies