Sponsored Content
Operating Systems HP-UX Boot Options on HP PA-RISC and Itanium Servers Post 302277406 by Perderabo on Friday 16th of January 2009 08:30:12 AM
Old 01-16-2009
I think that most folks disable the full memory tests. When the 9000's first came out, an 8 MB system was average sized and 64 MB was the max. At that point the full tests made sense. As memory sizes grew the test became annoying. Now it can take hours. In 25 plus years as a HP Sys Admin, I believe that I saw two bad memory boards and one of those was dead on arrival.

I would run the full tests once when I first get the system for sure. After that, a yearly full test might make sense... but I never did that.

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

please help need HP-UX 11 for PA RISC

Im not asking for an illegal copy (but from what i understand if i have the system its not illegal to give it to me) just how to get a copy of hp-ux period i have some old hp visualize systems based on the PA8500 400mhz cpu spent days on the phone with hp they no nothing and there website is a... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: maliqua
6 Replies

2. HP-UX

HP-UX 11i v2 for PA-RISC

Hello, i trying to get HP-UX 11i v2 for PA-RISC. I`im to poor to buy this system, so I`am asking that someone can help me. best regards email removed (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mruczas
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

menu.lst, boot options?

Hi all, I would like to have some details on menu.lst!! the reason is ,if i am trying to add my own boot option where do i need to add it? is it in menu.lst only or elsewere(am referring to unix os) because i tried adding a unique boot option and it was not reflected when the system booted?... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: wrapster
8 Replies

4. HP-UX

Does HP-UX On Itanium always come with PA-RISC compatibility