Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Can you migrate UFS to ZFS ?
Operating Systems Solaris Can you migrate UFS to ZFS ? Post 302273774 by reborg on Monday 5th of January 2009 08:04:58 PM
Old 01-05-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevie_velvet
FYI
UFS-> ZFS is on the Roadmap
ms.s
No it isn't. Migrating from root on UFS to root on ZFS is but conversion of existing filesystems is not.

5 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. BSD

ZFS / UFS / Soft Updates / GJurnal / Bonnie Performance

I have done some tests with UFS/ZFS under bonnie benchmark. here are the results if you are interested. software: OS: FreeBSD 7-CURRENT 200708 snapshot benchmark: bonnie -s 2048 CFLAGS: -O2 -fno-strict-aliasing -pipe -s CPUTYPE: athlon-mp scheduler: ULE hardware: CPU: (single) Athlon... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: vermaden
0 Replies

2. Solaris

Installing ZFS on an existing Solaris 10 install (UFS)

Hello, I am new to Solaris so i apologize upfront if my questions seem trivial. I am trying to install a ZFS file system on a Solaris 10 machine with UFS already installed on it. I want to run: # zpool create pool_zfs c0t0d0 then: # zfs create pool_zfs/fs My question is more to... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mcdef
3 Replies

3. Solaris

Allocating space to ufs /usr by using ZFS in solaris

Hi, Im currently having my diskspace allocation of my UFS filesystem in solris as 100% for /usr directory.I have created a zfs pool of 3 gb.I want to allocate space from my zfs pool to /usr so that i can free space in /usr.Please help me it is quiet urgent. (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: navjotmannan
6 Replies

4. Solaris

Convert root UFS to ZFS on x86 solaris 10/09

Hello All, Good Morning, We are trying to convert the UFS root in to ZFS. Am getting below error. Any one help me out on this ? bash-3.00# zpool list NAME SIZE USED AVAIL CAP HEALTH ALTROOT guru 5.95G 483M 5.48G 7% ONLINE - bash-3.00# zpool create rpool c2t10d0p0... (4 Replies)