Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Renaming file in Recursive folders Post 302273624 by bobbygsk on Monday 5th of January 2009 10:45:27 AM
Old 01-05-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ikon
That will change what is displayed to the screen, but doesnt actually rename any actual files.

Thanks for pointing out.
How do I actually rename it.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Renaming folders

Hello, I'm new to unix and I have to rename all folder fron the current folder from a name like "xx - Name of the Folder" to "Name of the Folder - xx". xx is a number ... Can somebody, please, help? Thank you! (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: mirciulicai
6 Replies

2. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

Recursive file processing

I'm developing a generic script to catenate all files found in a given directory. The problem I've got is that the depth of the given directory is unknown, so I end up with some catenated directories. My unix isn't that hot and I'm at a loss. Heres an extract from the script cd $1 for i in... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: k_mufasa
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Recursive Replication of Unix folders to Windows

Requirements: ftp files recursively from unix to windows. Replicate directory paths on unix (source) to windows (destination) and place files in their respective folders. There are no set number of files per directory nor fix number of dirA or dirB etc.... Source OS: Solaris... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: mlv_99
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

recursive saving of files and folders

Hi all I have a bash script, that loops through a folders files and all subfolders for .shtml files. It looks for a string and replaces it, creating a backup of the original file. This all works great, but I'd like, when the backup is done, that the files are then also created in their... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: terrid
4 Replies