Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: perl newbie
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting perl newbie Post 302272856 by Sgiri1 on Thursday 1st of January 2009 09:43:28 AM
Old 01-01-2009
perl newbie

what is the difference in regexes using symbols like

^NAME$|^SELF$

and

\bNAME\b
\bSELF\b

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl newbie question

Can someone tell me what this is doing? I know it is reading records from a table and puts them in a hash. How do I print out, let's say, the first 5 columns of data (assuming columns are named col1, col2, ...)? $sth = $dbh->prepare("select * from stsc.loc ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ssmiths001
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

perl newbie: how to extract an unknown word from a string

hi, im quite new to perl regexp. i have a problem where i want to extract a word from a given string. but the word is unknown, only fact is that it appears as the second word in the string. Eg. input string(s) : char var1 = 'A'; int var2 = 10; char *ptr; and what i want to do is... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: wolwy_pete
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl Newbie - help!

Hi All, newbie-ish question here. I have this script: foreach $test (@num) { foreach $record (@neet) { if ($record =~ /$test/){ print "$record \n"; print $test; } } } For some reason, the $test variable doesn't seem to be carrying into the second "foreach" loop. Does anyone know why... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Khoomfire
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Newbie to perl - Help with stats script

Hi, this is my first post so here goes..... I need help... I am trying to write a script to produce some stats based on a number of searches in a log file. Now i know how to do this using multiple variables which are really just greps, but I want a more efficent way of doing this as my poor... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ARwebble
1 Replies