Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to loop through directories to touch files Post 302271602 by sussane on Friday 26th of December 2008 03:44:05 PM
Old 12-26-2008
Network How to loop through directories to touch files

Hi,

Please help me on this.

Suppose i have the following directory structure.
/app/data
/app/data/eng
/app/data/med
/app/data/bsc

each of the directories data,data/eng,data/med,data/bsc holds files with date extension like
a.20081230
b.20081230 and so on

I need a script to loop through the directories and touch the files .

please suggest as i am new to unix.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to loop through all files and directories.

I'm trying to write a script that will loop through all files and directories down from a path I give it, and change the permissions and ACL. I was able to do the obvious way and change the files and folders on the same level as teh path...but I need it to continue on deeper into the file... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cheetobandito
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Touch all files and subdirectories (recursive touch)

I have a folder with many subdirectories and i need to set the modified date to today for everything in it. Please help, thanks! I tried something i found online, find . -print0 | xargs -r0 touch but I got the error: xargs: illegal option -- r (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: glev2005
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Loop to move files in different directories

Hi, I have various log files in different paths. e.g. a/b/c/d/e/server.log a/b/c/d/f/server.log a/b/c/d/g/server.log a/b/c/h/e/server.log a/b/c/h/f/server.log a/b/c/h/g/server.log a/b/c/i/e/server.log a/b/c/i/e/server.log a/b/c/i/e/server.log and above these have an archive folder... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: acc01
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers