Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Number of items in a directory Post 302269991 by pludi on Friday 19th of December 2008 09:26:26 AM
Old 12-19-2008
Assuming that your fonts have the extension .ttf
Code:
find . -type f -name '*.ttf' -print | wc -l

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Number of files in a particular directory

Hi, I am new to unix shell scripting.I am using Korn shell. I need to find if there are any files in a particular directory.first I need to find the number of files in the directory.If the file count is greater than 0 then I have to print the file names in a textfile and send an email to the... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: dbplatha
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Number of files in a directory

I have a directory which has lots of directories and files in it. I want to determine the total number of files in the top level directory (inclduing the files in sub-dirs) Is there a unix command of that ?/ Thanks !!! (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tantric
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk between items including items

OS=HP-UX ksh The following works, except I want to include the <start> and <end> in the output. awk -F '<start>' 'BEGIN{RS="<end>"; OFS="\n"; ORS=""} {print $2} somefile.log' The following work in bash but not in ksh sed -n '/^<start>/,/^<end>/{/LABEL$/!p}' somefile.log (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ikon
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Store number in a directory

hi all, this is some code in c...i want to write script for this... for(i=0;i<10;i++) { store i in backup directory; } (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: AbhijitIT
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Number of files per directory