Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Executing a command at startup Post 302266698 by fpmurphy on Wednesday 10th of December 2008 09:30:40 PM
Old 12-10-2008
Your question is somewhat confusing. Are you talking about when you login or when your system is booted up? They are two entirely different scenarios.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

Not executing during startup

I have a command in my iniitab as follows: dsmc:2a:once:/usr/tivoli/tsm/client/ba/bin/dsmc sched > /dev/null 2>&1 But the command doe not appear to execute during a system boot. Not sure why. I am running AIX 5.1 Thanks for the help Mike (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mhenryj
2 Replies

2. SuSE

Executing set of sh files at system startup

Hi Everybody I am totally new to Linux. We are using Suse Linux version 9. Currently we have 4 to 5 shell scripts which needs to be executed manually by the users.I want these scripts to be run automatically when system starts...something like system startup service. When system is... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: appleforme1415
1 Replies

3. HP-UX

Executing a script at startup

Hi, I want a script to execute as soon as a user logs in(instead of directing to his home directory). i know that i have to mention the path of script in the user's .profile to execute this, but not sure where and what to edit. I just tried and was unsuccesful. Kindly provide the code that i... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: sridharr83
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

cygwin bash startup command weirdness (part 1)

I am running (I believe) the latest stable version of cygwin CYGWIN_NT-5.1 1.5.24(0.156/4/2) 2007-01-31 10:57 i686 Cygwin on a win xp sp2 laptop. Suppose, to make things simple for now (but I may do a part 2 posting...), that I am in a dos shell, and I want to create a bash shell and have it... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: fabulous2
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting