Sponsored Content
Operating Systems BSD Gnome 2.2 gets very sluggish on FreeBSD 7 Post 302266671 by janez on Wednesday 10th of December 2008 06:35:03 PM
Old 12-10-2008
Solution

cd /usr/local/share/xsessions
edit gnome.desktop

replace (at the end of the file)
Exec=gnome-session
TryExec=gnome-session
with
Exec=gnome-session --purge-delay=5000 --warn-delay=5000
TryExec=gnome-session --purge-delay=5000 --warn-delay=5000

Janez

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

Start Gnome in FreeBSD 4.5

I was finally able to get FreeBSD working with X-windows and KDE. I installed Gnome also. However am not given the chance to run Gnome when I type: startx at the command line. KDE seems to be default How can I run Gnome too? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: lancest
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

FreeBSD 4.4 Uninstalling KDE or GNOME

Hey all :) I finally got around to installing FreeBSD 4.4, which considering it's my first attempt with *nix, didn't go too badly. I've managed to configure X and everything else, but I've got a bit of a problem, lol. I installed KDE and GNOME. I had a rough idea as to what they were, but I... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: hellz
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

installed GNOME on FreeBSD! need help with several things

Hi guys, I still have "microsoft windows" eyes so this unix freebsd stuff still looks very alien to me. Yesterday I managed to install freebsd 5.1 on my dell notebook. And today I got Gnome 2.2 working. I have this problem I can only login to Gnome with my normal user account, and not with... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Dalma
1 Replies

4. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

installed GNOME on FreeBSD! need help with several things