Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Help with simple variable
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with simple variable Post 302266248 by vidyadhar85 on Tuesday 9th of December 2008 05:25:26 PM
Old 12-09-2008
oh ok got it...i think this will do
Code:
VAR=$(echo 5=a 4=b 3=c|awk -F"=" 'BEGIN{RS=" "}/^c/{print $2}')
VAR=$(echo a=1 b=2 c=3 d=4 e=5 |awk -F"=" 'BEGIN{RS=" "}/^c/{print $2}')

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

simple SH variable

Greetz all, I'm using OBSD 2.9 with /bin/sh as my shell. I want to modify the SH prompt to reflect my current working directory. I'm new to shell programming, so pardon if I'm going about things wrong ;) I thought I'd be able to do it with the following line: PS1="`pwd`# " but of course,... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: sancho5
9 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Very simple question about changing PS1 variable at startup!

Hello there ! I am new in this Unix world and just start learning Unix. I have very simple question about changing PS1 variable (Shell Prompt) i have local.profile file in my working directory, i open in vi edit mode and add this line PS1="Hello:>" and i save that file. I disconnected from... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: abidmalik
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simple script to return environment variable

HI , In the below script I am trying to return the value of the environment variable TIBCO_HOME to the caller #! /usr/bin/csh set VAR_NAME=$1 echo VAR_NAME On the aix console.. set to setenv TIBCO_HOME /app/tibco When I execute the script... myscript.sh TIBCO_HOME, the script... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: bce_groups
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

simple assigning variable question