Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers what the %s does percent sign-s mean? Post 302265813 by Lakris on Monday 8th of December 2008 03:18:02 PM
Old 12-08-2008
You're welcome!

/Lakris

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sign on/Sign off logging script

I'd like to make a script that I can execute every time I sign on to my linux box that keeps track of the time and allows to me to add a remark to a file. So basically once I log in, I run the script, and it outputs the date and time to a text file (log.txt). But that isn't my problem. I need... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Glider
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Find percent between sum of 2 columns awk help

Hi I'm new to this forum and I'm a beginner when it comes to shell and awk programming. But I have the following problem: I have 5 csv files (data1.csv, data2.csv, etc.) and need to calculate the average between the total sum of the 1st and 7 column. csv example:... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sapo51
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk if percent % checking

hi everyone, # cat a a 10% b 25.5% c 91% d 50% # cat a | awk '$2 >= 90%; END {print $_}' awk: $2 > 90%; END {print $_} awk: ^ syntax error awk: each rule must have a pattern or an action part how to do only print when 2nd coln >= 90%. Thanks (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: jimmy_y
6 Replies

4. HP-UX

compare file percent sizes

I need to get a file size and compare it to a previous day file size. If it's larger or smaller by 50 percent I'll replace the new with the old. I know how to get the file sizes but do not know how to calculate if it's 50 percent difference. Thanks for your help. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jkuchar747
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Tivoli Tape Zero percent