Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: length of a variable!
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting length of a variable! Post 302263094 by Christoph Spohr on Sunday 30th of November 2008 04:34:54 PM
Old 11-30-2008
Code:
expr length string

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

creating a fixed length output from a variable length input

Is there a command that sets a variable length? I have a input of a variable length field but my output for that field needs to be set to 32 char. Is there such a command? I am on a sun box running ksh Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: r1500
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Length of a variable

Hi, I have another question, I am very new to scripting. I am using c shell. I am trying to get the length of a variable. Right now I am using set var = 12 echo $#var but the # operator isn't working, it is telling me that the length is 1 when it is obviously two.... help! (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: karyn1617
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

help need to find the length of a variable

Hi frnds, i have a file which contains multiple lines. each line size may come around 64MB. and i want to read line by line and nee to find the length of each line, at present am doing it in the following way, while read LINE do len=`expr length "$LINE"` # and using the variable... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: smr_rashmy
7 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Convert a tab delimited/variable length file to fixed length file

Hi, all. I need to convert a file tab delimited/variable length file in AIX to a fixed lenght file delimited by spaces. This is the input file: 10200002<tab>US$ COM<tab>16/12/2008<tab>2,3775<tab>2,3783 19300978<tab>EURO<tab>16/12/2008<tab>3,28523<tab>3,28657 And this is the expected... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Everton_Silveir
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Make variable length record a fixed length