Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Writing a script to work sequentially with bsub Post 302260501 by silky on Thursday 20th of November 2008 06:13:23 PM
Old 11-20-2008
Writing a script to work sequentially with bsub

Hi,
I am REALLY a newbie of Unix: hope this question is not too odd.
Here is my problem:
I have to submit jobs to a remote platform (an IBM BCX/5120).
To submit I have to
bsub < filename.jcf
and the .jcf file has usually the following content:

#!/bin/bash

#BSUB <commands of the bsub>
/usr/local/stata/stata -b //stata is StataMP for statistical analysis

Unfortunately, each job cannot last more than 6 hours (usually each last around 4 hours), and I would love to make them start sequentially:
any idea about how could I do it?

If you can help me, you'll save my sleep: I won't wake up every 6 hours in order to make the jobs work.
Moreover, since the weekend is approaching and my girlfriend would get pretty angry if I don't dedicate her enough time during the following 3 days, you'll probably save even my relationship!

Thank you very much,
f

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Script doesn't work, but commands inside work

Howdie everyone... I have a shell script RemoveFiles.sh Inside this file, it only has two commands as below: rm -f ../../reportToday/temp/* rm -f ../../report/* My problem is that when i execute this script, nothing happened. Files remained unremoved. I don't see any error message as it... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cheongww
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script to sort and execute files sequentially

Hi, I want to sort my files under a directory and execute them sequentially. For ex: my diir contains files: a_5.sql, ab_2.sql,abc_3.sql, acbd_1 ,ab_4.sql, etc. I want to execute the files based on the last number after underscore sequentially(i.e.. _1,_2,etc) . Can anybody help me? (5 Replies)