Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: CD drive Mounting
Operating Systems Linux CD drive Mounting Post 302259390 by daya.pandit on Tuesday 18th of November 2008 02:22:22 AM
Old 11-18-2008
what you are asking for ??

1):- As you have unix system and want to mount their cdrom on your Ubuntu8.0
OR
2):- you want to mount your Local cdrom on your machine.

For second one :
2):- $sudo mount /media/cdrom /mnt

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

mounting a drive

Trying to mount a drive which has been dropped after corruption. What is the quickets and esiest command to run and which switches? cheers olly (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ollyparkhouse
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Drive mounting

Hello, people. I am pretty new to linux, but I heard it was supposed to be good. So I installed it on an ancient 33mhz 486 with 27mbs of RAM. Ran into problems, patched them, and am here now. I am trying to figure out how to use my floppy and CD-ROM drives. I click their respective icons on the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Furtoes00
2 Replies

3. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

Mounting AFS drive

I have an old amiga IDE drive that I wish to read. Its formated in FFS and I understand I can mount this under linux as an AFS filesystem. The drive is already installed in the PC. Can anyone explain in newbie terms the steps t mounting and reading this drive? Thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: SocketSlave
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Problem mounting different named drive

Hi all, I've got a system here in which I have put a hard drive that was previously mirrored in a supposedly identical system. I am now attempting to boot from this drive alone but get these messages: --- ad4: 58644MB <Maxtor 6Y060L0> at ata2-master UDMA100 Mounting root from ufs:/dev/ar0a... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: jimbostyx
0 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Mounting remote tape drive