Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users don't understand the unix script Post 302259111 by pochaman on Monday 17th of November 2008 09:40:34 AM
Old 11-17-2008
don't understand the unix script

if {"$my_ext_type" = MAIN]; then
cd $v_sc_dir
Filex.SH $v_so_dir\/$v_fr_file
Can somebody tell me what does this suggest. I am pretty new to unix and
I am getting confused.
What i understood from here is
If we have a file extension name as MAIN
which we have then we change the directory to the path in
$v_sc_dir. And there we find the file Filex.SH [which we have].
Now comes the problem of my understanding. We have this path
$v_so_dir. But i dont know what this |[back slash means] can somebody tell me.
Also we have $v_fr_file -spool file. I am pretty confused. Please help me.

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

I don`t understand how It work (about startup script)?

Hi all. The startup script in /usr/local/bin. After user login the script run an application. Iwould in the same way run the another application. How to make It similar? Where I must to look? Regards. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: wolfgang
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Don't understand how RS functions in awk

I learn using RS in awk to extract portion of file in this forum which is wonderful solution to the problem. However, I don't understand how exactly it operates. I don't quite understand the mechanism behind how searching for /DATA2/ can result in extracting the whole section under "DATA2" ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: joe228
3 Replies

3. Homework & Coursework Questions

I don't understand some basics..

Use and complete the template provided. The entire template must be completed. If you don't, your post may be deleted! 1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data: 1)find all lines in file ,myf that contain all the words cat dog and mouse in any order and start with the letter... (1 Reply)