Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Using concatination for commands Post 302258567 by jim mcnamara on Friday 14th of November 2008 10:00:54 PM
Old 11-14-2008
You can run any program that interacts with the user and accepts a sequence of commands or answers. YOu just have to know what the commands are ahead of time.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

commands

hi, I'm completely new to FreeBds or unix in general, is there a really nice site to teach you the basic ommands to free BSD. I don't know what to do. =( (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Special K
3 Replies

2. Programming

code that reads commands from the standard i/p and executes the commands

Hello all, i've written a small piece of code that will read commands from standard input and executes the commands. Its working fine and is execting the commands well. Accepting arguments too. e.g #mkdir <name of the directory> The problem is that its not letting me change the directory i.e... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Phrozen Smoke
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Can BASH execute commands on a remote server when the commands are embedded in shell

I want to log into a remote server transfer over a new config and then backup the existing config, replace with the new config. I am not sure if I can do this with BASH scripting. I have set up password less login by adding my public key to authorized_keys file, it works. I am a little... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bash_in_my_head
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to do the following commands

Given a directory on a Linux or on Unix file system that contains one or several text files, how would you Find the last 5 lines with the word “HELLO” in a single file Find the line number of the first line with the word “HELLO” in every file Find all lines with the word “HELLO” in all... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: coppercat
1 Replies