Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to remove certain lines in multiple txt files? Post 302257758 by Yogesh Sawant on Thursday 13th of November 2008 03:16:48 AM
Old 11-13-2008
using sed:
Code:
sed -i -e '/Calls/d' BGH.28OCT2008.*

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

need help--script to filter specific lines from multiple txt files

Hi folks, - I have 800 txt files - those files are cisco router configs router1.txt router2.txt ... router800.txt I want to accomplish the following: - I want to have a seperate file with all the filenames that I want to process - I want a script that goes trough all those... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: I-1
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Compare and Remove duplicate lines from txt

Hello, I am a total linux newbie and I can't seem to find a solution to this little problem. I have two text files with a huge list of URLS. Let's call them file1.txt and file2.txt What I want to do is grab an URL from file2.txt, search file1.txt for the URL and if found, delete it from... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: rmarcano
11 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Number of *.txt files which have over n lines?

Can you help me please? I know that wc -l *.txt gives you the number of lines in each file. But how can i count the files that have over n lines? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: dark_knight
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to remove characters from multiple .txt files

Friends, I want to remove charecters from multiple .txt files. Foe example : In this .txt files there are many "ctrl m" present in last of each line in one .txt file. I want to remove "ctrl m" from each line from all .txt files. Need your help regarding this. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: meetsubhas
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

replace a string with contents of a txt file containing multiple lines of strings