Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers getting help on finding exception in running log file Post 302256510 by wempy on Monday 10th of November 2008 02:54:52 AM
Old 11-10-2008
you could put each pattern that you wish to search for in a file, one per line, and use grep -f option. -f is specified by posix, so should be available on most versions of grep.
Code:
count=`tail -n 1000 Trace.log | grep -c -f /home/user/patterns`

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

finding a process running on a port

how do I find the process that is running on a port in HP-Unix? Murali (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: manduva
8 Replies

2. UNIX and Linux Applications

Urgent---Program for getting Exception from a log

Hi Friends, I am new to Unix, Now I am Working with shell scripting in my company Description:-By executing that script I need to get the exception from the log file I need the program for getting the Exceptions from the logfile,,and that program should be generic...I mean if i want to... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Anji
5 Replies

3. Programming

Exception Signal 11 while running JAVA code in UNIX

Hi, when i compile my java code in UNIX using javac, the class file is getting created. But when i try to run the code using java - classpath command, i get the following error. ---------------------------------------- /u/up11/sample/request:>java -classpath /u/up11/sample/request... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: satish2712
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

script for finding an error from a log file

Hi , I have a doubt about a shell script to find an ERROR from the log file. But I need to specify a the scan from a particular date and time in the log. Till now I have developed the following script. Please suggest what shall I add in this for date and time. If the script finds a particular... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: himvat
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting