Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting .bashrc files modifying the PS1 variable? Post 302256480 by raidkridley on Monday 10th of November 2008 12:36:37 AM
Old 11-10-2008
...please...?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Very simple question about changing PS1 variable at startup!

Hello there ! I am new in this Unix world and just start learning Unix. I have very simple question about changing PS1 variable (Shell Prompt) i have local.profile file in my working directory, i open in vi edit mode and add this line PS1="Hello:>" and i save that file. I disconnected from... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: abidmalik
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

PS1 variable

I want to set my prompt to something more descriptive than a plain old $, so I set the PS1 variable as such: PS1="" Which changes the prompt correctly, but when I change directories, it does not update the prompt. So I tried this: PS1="`pwd`>" I get the same results when changing... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dangral
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

setting PS1 variable

Hi, I am trying to set my current prompt with the current directory iam working on by $PS1=$PWD but it is blank. please help. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: papachi
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

reading ~/.bashrc variable

1) I've added a variable called IMPORT_HOME to my ~/.bashrc file: IMPORT_HOME=/import:$IMPORT_HOME 2) I sourced the bashrc file: source ~/.bashrc 3) In my bash script, i tried to echo out the IMPORT_HOME variable but it doesnt print out '/import/, only whitespace: #!/bin/bash echo... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nuGz
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Finding files that midify the PS1 variable.