Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting .bashrc files modifying the PS1 variable? Post 302256431 by raidkridley on Sunday 9th of November 2008 10:41:46 PM
Old 11-09-2008
.bashrc files modifying the PS1 variable?

Is there a command for finding all files on the system named ".bashrc" that modify the PS1 variable? I'd like to list the full file name(s) and the protection (including the full path).

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Very simple question about changing PS1 variable at startup!

Hello there ! I am new in this Unix world and just start learning Unix. I have very simple question about changing PS1 variable (Shell Prompt) i have local.profile file in my working directory, i open in vi edit mode and add this line PS1="Hello:>" and i save that file. I disconnected from... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: abidmalik
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

PS1 variable

I want to set my prompt to something more descriptive than a plain old $, so I set the PS1 variable as such: PS1="" Which changes the prompt correctly, but when I change directories, it does not update the prompt. So I tried this: PS1="`pwd`>" I get the same results when changing... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dangral
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

setting PS1 variable

Hi, I am trying to set my current prompt with the current directory iam working on by $PS1=$PWD but it is blank. please help. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: papachi
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

reading ~/.bashrc variable

1) I've added a variable called IMPORT_HOME to my ~/.bashrc file: IMPORT_HOME=/import:$IMPORT_HOME 2) I sourced the bashrc file: source ~/.bashrc 3) In my bash script, i tried to echo out the IMPORT_HOME variable but it doesnt print out '/import/, only whitespace: #!/bin/bash echo... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nuGz
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers