Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: reg chown
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers reg chown Post 302255279 by ilayans on Thursday 6th of November 2008 06:34:27 AM
Old 11-06-2008
still i am getting same error

umask 000
create_file ! C executable
chown ilayans $fil_name

error is chown: txt123.txt: Operation not permitted.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

chown

hello chown not change ownership before: 205:system ~kuku chown kuku:system ~kuku after no change 205:system ~kuku aix box can someone help me? ariec (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ariec
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

chown issue

I have a strange problem in my Linux box (Suse). Recently I took over this box as admin even though I have no prior admin experience. Following is my issue I had following users under 'root' group initially user1 user2 user3 Since I did not like user ids under root group. I modifed these... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: praveenkumar_l
9 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Chgrp and Chown ???

Hi Can anybody please let me know the usage of Chgrp command with an example??? Thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: skyineyes
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

chown

is there a difference in chown on a file or a directory? how do i chown a directory and all the contents? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: BG_JrAdmin
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

cp, chown, untar

hello i want shell script. i have a source.txt /home/user409/public_html/test/ /home/user09876/public_html/xdsss/ /home/user9765/public_html/320xxx/ . . . maybe 1000 lines i want . 1.read a source.txt 2.untar special.tar.gz into these directory in source.txt 3.i want to... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: topic32428285
14 Replies

6. Shell Programming and Scripting

Chown - error