Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX Cannot Accept License Agreement on Smit Install? Post 302254937 by bakunin on Wednesday 5th of November 2008 01:34:28 PM
Old 11-05-2008
SMIT is just a nicely polished (and, btw., even extendable) UI to execute normal system commands. If you could do it with SMIT you always can do it manually too - maybe not as comfortably so, but you can.

You can - by pressing <F6> - even look at the command(s) SMITty would issue and can cut/paste/edit this to use it in your own scripts. This is quite handy for developing scripts for the more arcane parts of AIX.

I hope this helps.

bakunin

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. AIX

License issue on Java install

I'm a AIX novice - please bear with me.. I'm trying to install Java14_64_sdk on an Aix 5.2 server (P690) I've copied the ff files to a separate directory: Java14_64.ext Java14_64.license Java14_64.sdk I then run smitty installp, point to the above directory and choose the Java14_64.sdk... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: morgan_g
0 Replies

2. Forum Support Area for Unregistered Users & Account Problems

smit.script

what is the smit.script file and does it ever need to be cleaned up or deleted (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: PamRainwater
0 Replies

3. Solaris

Solaris 10 install won't accept IP address

Hi I am trying to debug an issue with an automated install I have set-up. So to start I just ran a simple ok; boot cdrom - install but when it came to the IP address field it would only take the following format 123.123.123.12 and would not let me enter the last digit Anybody got any... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: eeisken
9 Replies

4. AIX

Smit logs

Hi everyone, I'm trying to keep my smit logs in other directory diferent than the user's home. I know with -l and -s you can change this settings but I'm wondering if there is any environment value that I can set. It can be done using alias too ... Thanx. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mfons
3 Replies